42 matching profiles

Honorary faculty

Our Honorary Faculty are the clinical leaders of their Academy, bringing their expertise and experience, alongside an enthusiasm and drive to improve services and outcomes for people living with a neurological condition. The voluntary role includes bringing new ideas into their Academy, building on and developing new educational content, creating programmes and selecting speakers for our range of educational events.

Lisa Edel Senior Specialist Paediatric Respiratory Neuromuscular Physiotherapist
Dr Vasantha Gowda Consultant paediatric neurologist
Dr Channa Hewamadduma Consultant neurologist and honorary senior lecturer
Dr Min Ong Paediatric neurology consultant
Sue Thomas Independent healthcare consultant


Our Faculty members are experts in their chosen condition and have often – although not always – been involved with an Academy as a delegate and speaker as well. They often speak at courses, events and webinars, but have additional input into the direction and content of their Academy's educational vision, including providing advice and support around MasterClass programme content.

Dr Maria Elena Farrugia Consultant neurologist
Faculty, Myasthenia Gravis, Neuromuscular Academy
Prof Maria Isabel Leite Associate professor and consultant neurologist
Faculty, Myasthenia Gravis, Neuromuscular Academy
Prof Saiju Jacob Consultant neurologist
Faculty, Myasthenia Gravis, Neuromuscular Academy


Our speakers are experts in their fields or those with specific experience of a particular topic. They may present at a MasterClass, webinar, or other events and courses, or may deliver a videocast. Many of our speakers are MasterClass alumni, further developing both a clinical network and the Academy's collegiate feel.

Dr James Alix Senior clinical lecturer and honorary consultant in clinical Neurophysiology
University of Sheffield and Sheffield Teaching Hospitals, NHS Foundation Trust
Sian Ball Neuromuscular care advisor
Dr Giovanni Barranello Clinical Associate Professor in Paediatric Neurology/ Neuromuscular Disorders
Ed Bayley Consultant spinal surgeon
Caroline Carmichael Myasthenia gravis nurse specialist
John Cashman Consultant Paediatric Orthopaedic Surgeon
Dr Fiona Chan Senior neuro-ophthalmology fellow
Dr Anne-Marie Childs Consultant paediatric neurologists
Miriam Creeger Chartered physiotherapist
Dr Charlie Fairhurst National specialty lead for children’s neurosciences
Dr Pablo Garcia-Reitboeck Consultant neurologist
Susan George Paediatric neurosciences pharmacist
Dr David Gilligan Consultant clinical oncologist
Dr Sanela Grbic Senior clinical psychologist
Dr Karen Horridge Visiting professor, childhood disability and development
Mahjabin Islam NIHR academic clinical fellow
Jude Kings myasthenia specialist nurse
Dr Alan Kirk Consultant thoracic surgeon
Ulrika Kreicbergs RN, PhD, holds the Louis Dundas Chair in Palliative Care for Children and Young People
Emma Livingstone Founder & CEO
Robert Muni Lofra Consultant Physiotherapist
Prof Siva Nair Consultant neurologist
Katie Nevin Clinical specialist physiotherapist in neuromuscular disorders
Niranjanan Nirmalananthan National clinical director for neurology & consultant neurologist
Dr Sithara Ramdas Consultant paediatric neurologist
Dr Mariacristina Scoto Consultant in neuromuscular translational researcher
Nicky Sedgwick Speech and Language Therapist
Prof Laurent Servais Professor of Paediatric Neuromuscular Diseases
Dr Jennifer Spillane Consultant neurologist
Portia Thorman Advocacy lead
Maya Uccheddu Pharmacist
Dr Stuart Viegas Consultant neurologist
Kay White Paediatric Neuromuscular Physiotherapist